(tr)uSDX on 50MHz or 144MHz?

ka1gt

(tr)uSDX on 50MHz or 144MHz?

Post by ka1gt »

I'm very new to the uSDX, but I've run a number of searches to see if anyone has made modifications that allowed operation on 50MHz or 144MHz. So far I have not found anything.

The Si5351 should be good to 200MHz, so there should be no problem at 50 or 144. When using the TS-480 emulation for CAT control, the TS-480 should support 50MHz operation (but not 144MHz). I don't need high power, a few hundred mW (or even <100mW) would be enough, so I suspect the PA would probably be capable of that. I don't care about efficiency. It would obviously need a different filter on the output, but that should not be a big deal.

The SN74CBT3253DBR has a rated bandwidth of 200MHz, so again should be up to the task.

This would presumably need software modification in order to allow 50 or 144 MHz to be entered (manually or via CAT) and for the correct output relay with the appropriate filter to be selected when 50 or 144 MHz was entered. For example they could be in the 80m and 40m positions since I don't use those bands. I'm familiar with Arduino programming, but the sketch looks pretty complex. I suppose given enough time I might be able to figure out what to modify! I do see references in the code to 160m and 6m and there's a line in there covering Si5351 clock setting at frequencies over 140MHz (though the Application note referenced seem to apply to frequences over 150MHz)